FLORIDA RESIDENTS have a 3 day waiting period and can only get a license by walking into any Florida courthouse together
NON RESIDENTS do not have a wait at all. You also may walk into any Florida courthouse OR get the license by mail or email.
The marriage license is good for 60 days…which means…once you have it you have 60 days to use it.
Residents and non-residents walking into a courthouse:
The license is $93.50.
Non-residents doing it by mail or email, $93.50. Plus you will have postage costs by mail, I suggest mailing things certified for tracking. You will also have notary charges where you live.
What you DO need whether you walk into courthouse or by mail or email.
Photo ID’s (Sate ID’s, drivers license, passports, I believe military ID is fine, any photo ID should work) you need to know your SS#, if you have been married before, you need to know the date the marriage ended.
What you DO NOT need
Paper work of divorces etc, birth certificates, blood tests or witnesses in the state of Florida. Do not make this harder than it needs to be if you are walking into the courthouse..
You also DO NOT have to take the pre-marital course. However when you do, you get a discount on the marriage license. I believe the 3 day waiting period for Florida residents is also waived if you take the course. Though I have never taken this course (I am sure all states offer them) I would think it would be an enlightening course to take especially for the first time marriages or young people. I think courses are offered through most churches or just state offered courses can be found. OBVIOUSLY THEY ARE OFFERED FOR A REASON AND MIGHT BE SOMETHING EVERY ONE SHOULD LOOK IN TO. BUT AGAIN, NOT MANDATORY.
When you are done at the courthouse you will walk out with the marriage license ready to be given to us on your wedding day. When you do it by mail or email you will also eventually have the finished marriage license ready to bring to us.
MARRIAGE LICENSE BY MAIL OR EMAIL FOR NON-RESIDENTS
The license is still $93.50 but you could have further charges such as notary fees and postage….
after clicking the above link (you may have to cut and paste) …out of state couples will click on “MAIL AWAY LICENSE INFORMATION” to the left of the page.
You first fill that out following the instructions. The courts then send you the marriage license form and an affidavit; you then take this to a notary in your state, sign (both of you together) and send back to the courts here. You will then receive it back, keep it, bring it to us; we perform the ceremony.
My advice for this is to figure out when it will be 60 days before you plan to marry. A week before that date start the process by going to the site above and filling out the form. Though it can be a long process this should be plenty of time to get things going. Do not start the process any earlier than that. The reason being, you have 60 days to use the marriage license once it is ready to go. if you are filling the form out 5 months ahead of time it will be no good when you want to use it.
For people attempting this close to the wedding date…it is do-able with overnighting etc. And of course getting right on it for each stage…I would also contact the courthouse so they understand this is being done close to the date and they need to treat this as priority.
Both residents and non-residents
You have the choice of BWBJ taking care of mailing the marriage license to the courts or walking the marriage license into the courthouse yourself after the wedding for recording…
If you take it yourself you will walk out with the recorded marriage license,ready to now take and change your name etc…this is good for people needing the license for medical insurance, military reasons etc. Right away…You have 10 days to get the license to the courts… This option is recommended for our couples who are overseas…the wait to receive it in the mail could be lengthy also, there is always a greater chance of being lost in the mail when going overseas…the courts do not send these mailings certified…there will be no way of tracking.
If we mail it to the courthouse they go out once a week by certified mail…of course where you are in that week will determine how fast you will get the certified copy at your home…the week does not necessarily start on a Monday.
If it is not needed in a hurry then having us us mail the marriage license to the courthouse should be fine…I would estimate 10-14 days total depending on when it goes out of our office…of course going overseas or Canada I would add time on to this. The courts do not certify the mailings…they are sent in the regular mail…No way to track. We mail out to the courthouse certified so we can track. However tracking only means I can tell where it is and when it arrived to the courthouse. I have never had one not make it to the courthouse but I have had one sit somewhere for days and days before it finally started moving. No reason for it…it just happened. BUT I was able to tell where it was.
The Merritt Island Courthouse is the closest to Cocoa Beach and easy to get to from the Cocoa Beach area as well as stopping on your way from Orlando. Directions are below. Please keep in mind, you may get your license in any FLORIDA county and use it anywhere in Florida. So if you are vacationing in Orlando, or any other Florida area if it is more convenient to get it there, you can use it here. Check the addresses of other county courthouse locations by searching on the web. I get many marriage licenses from all over the state. Some will give you special instructions such as Osceola County requires a self addressed stamp envelope in order to mail your recorded copy, I know of no other county that does this. So please relay this information to us when you are made aware so we can make sure we do things right. I don’t know all the counties special requirements and they can change at times. You will receive one certified copy once it has been recorded by the county courthouse. If you want more copies and I am mailing in the license, you will need to fill out the form given to you by the courthouse and give to me with payment. All courthouses have different requirements for this payment. Some are OK with a check, others need a money order. I will include the form and payment with your marriage license.
DIRECTIONS FOR CLOSEST COURTHOUSE TO COCOA BEACH
Merritt Island Office: Sheriff’s Department Complex, 2575 North Courtenay Parkway, Room 129, Merritt Island, Florida 32953 To get to the Merritt Island Marriage License Office from Cocoa Beach go north on State Road A1A through Cocoa Beach and Cape Canaveral. State Road A1A becomes State Road 528 also known as the Beach Line or Bee Line. After several miles, take exit #49 for State Road 3, Merritt Island.
There are three lanes at the end of the exit ramp. Get in the middle lane so you can turn left and stay in the outside lane. Just after turning you will pass under State Road 528. There will be a traffic light immediately in front of you and just beyond the light and on your right you’ll see Mr. Ni’s Chinese Restaurant. Turn right Immediately on the other side of Mr. Ni’s sign, and park behind the government center. The building is very plain looking. Enter the wing of the building that is closer to Mr. Ni’s Restaurant. (This restaurant took a beating in hurricanes, I think it may be shut down but I think the sign is still there)
Stay on the first floor and go about two thirds of the way down the hall.
Room #129 will be on your right. That’s the marriage license office (Clerk of the Court). Take a number and wait your turn. That’s all there is to it.
Other Office Locations in Brevard County (the County Cocoa Beach is in): My suggestion is to mapquest your starting destination to the addresses below for directions.
1a. Administration/Human Resources/Full-service counter: 400 South Street (second floor), Titusville, Florida 32780 1b. Historic Titusville Court House: 506 South Palm Avenue, Titusville, Florida 32796 2. Parkway Complex: 700 South Park Avenue, Titusville, Florida 32780 3. Moore Justice Center: 2825 Judge Fran Jamieson Way, Viera 32940 3. Moore Justice Center: 2825 Judge Fran Jamieson Way, Viera 32940 4. Melbourne Branch Courthouse: 51 South Nieman Avenue, Melbourne 32901 5. Palm Bay Office: 450 Cogan Drive S.E., Palm Bay, Florida 32909
After you have either applied by mail or walked into the courthouse to get the marriage license (I cannot stress this enough) look at the spelling of your names. Look at your birth dates, birth place, everything. Also, look at the date of issue box 18, the date license effective 18a and the expiration date box 19. These need to be right. If you are out of state the first two boxes 18 and 18a will be the same because you have no waiting period. Nobody can get married before the date in the date license is effective box 18a or after the expiration date box 19. If any of these things are not right and you leave there, it is a hassle to get things changed later. This will be your responsibility and they will charge you to make a new one if you leave with it wrong or if doing it by mail you do not catch it before your wedding date. We will not be responsible either…
If receiving recorded license by mail DO NOT WAIT MONTHS TO CONTACT ME IF YOU HAVE NOT RECEIVED IT FROM THE COURTS. IT DOES NOT TAKE MONTHS TO GET IT.
NEVER HAS A MARRIAGE LICENSE NOT MADE IT TO THE COURTS FROM ME BUT THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHEN THE MARRIAGE LICENSE DID NOT MAKE IT TO THE COUPLE FROM THE COURTS. IF THIS SHOULD HAPPEN ON THEIR END THEY WILL MAIL A NEW COPY ONCE THEY ARE NOTIFIED. SO AGAIN, IF YOU DO NOT HAVE IT IN A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME PLEASE CONTACT THEM DIRECTLY OR CONTACT ME.
You can have 2 witnesses sign the license but witnesses are not needed to be legal. It can be just your officiant and the two of you if you wish!